reducing emmissons

Our Team

ClimateActionWR is a collaboration between local organizations and community members focused on climate change mitigation, and is led by Reep Green Solutions and Sustainable Waterloo Region.

Team Members

Samantha Tremmel

Plan Manager

Sydney Sandluck

Project Coordinator

Emily Wettlaufer

Marketing Coordinator

Megan Gereghty

Local Policy Researcher

Sandra Biskupovic

Community Action Researcher

Management Committee

Mary Jane Patterson

Executive Director

Reep Green Solutions

Tova Davidson

Executive Director

Sustainable Waterloo Region

Kate Daley

Environmental Sustainability Specialist         

Region of Waterloo

Paul Willms

Sustainability Planner

City of Cambridge

Anna Marie Cipriani

Corporate Sustainability Officer

City of Kitchener

Sustainability Coordinator

City of Waterloo

Transition 2050 Partners

Sector Committees

ClimateActionWR has three sector committees: one dedicated to each of the three highest emitting sectors in our community’s GHG inventory. These committees are Transportation, Workplaces (ICI), and Residential. Committee members are volunteers, composed of community members, local experts, students, and concerned citizens, who act as “connectors” and “catalysts”. Committee members connect groups and individuals to others working on similar projects and catalyze action toward our climate goals.

Each of the three sector committees takes a ‘birds-eye’ view of their sector, being aware of initiatives related to climate change mitigation within the boundaries of Waterloo Region, in order to identify and accelerate progress toward achieving our community’s GHG reduction target.

Sector Committee Advisors

  • Jeff Hunter
  • Jeff Quint
  • John Kokko
  • Siobhan Bioisteel
  • Yige Tong

Transportation Sector Committee

David Trueman and Maria Legault, Committee Chairs


  • Dorothy McCabe
  • Gena Braun
  • Jenessa Doherty
  • Arcy Canumay
  • Mat Thijssen
  • Matthew Nicholas Schwarze
  • Tom Strickland
  • Zahra Jaffer

Workplaces Sector Committee

Anna Hohenadel and Mayah Moosajee, Committee Chairs


  • Andrew Schiedel
  • Aisling Dennett
  • Brennan Detzler
  • Connie Lum
  • Jeff Van Gyssel
  • Jenessa Doherty
  • Jenny Zhou
  • Joseph Tanel
  • Robert McCallum
  • Veronica Nhio-son

Residential Sector Committee

Sandra Bray, Committee Chair


  • Heather McDiarmid
  • Carole Boucher
  • Judy Maan Miedema
  • Lisa Truong
  • Matthew Day
  • Michele Martin
  • Monika Wagner
  • Rebecca McIntosh
  • Ryan Fobel

Get our Monthly Community Action Report

Stay up to date on progress towards our goal

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.